Gombe House Of Assembly Sack Speaker, Majority Leader, Deputy Chief Whip

The Gombe State House of Assembly on Tuesday impeached its Speaker, Abubakar Ibrahim from Yamaltu west constituency while Abubakar Luggerewo emerged as the new speaker.

The former speaker was impeached on Tuesday following a voice vote by 16 members out of the 24 members of the house.

The motion for the removal  of Ibrahim was moved by Shuaibu Haruna, the member representing Kwami state constituency.

The new speaker, Luggerewo, who is the 7th speaker of the Assembly is from Akko Central constituency.

Luggerewo was sworn-in by the deputy speaker, Siddi Buba from Kwami West constituency.

The house also removed the majority leader, Samuel Markus from Pero-Chongi and replaced him with Yerima Gaule representing Kaltungo East.

The deputy chief whip, Yahaya Kaka was removed and replaced with Saidu Mohammed, representing Deba constituency.

The house also dissolved all its standing committees.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the house did not give any reason for the removal of the speaker.

The chief whip of the house, Musa Buba, from Balanga North constituency however, told newsmen that the members no longer have confidence and trust in him.

Related Article

Posted By On 06:30 Tue, 24 Nov 2020

Comments:0 || Views:



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article

Wapbaze is an Entertainment website that deals in uploding of music tracks of any kind and letting her users download them in Mp3 formats of high quality. Wapbaze.com is the main website, Wapbaze.com/music/ is the folder for latest songs, wapbaze.com/movies/ is for mp4 movies updates so as wapbaze.com/videos/ is for 3gp music videos updates and wapbaze.com/forum/ is for latest gist, news, health and tech updates.