» »

Buhari sacks agencies’ boards, NIMASA boss

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday dissolved the
governing boards of all federal parastatals, agencies and

According to a statement by the Special Adviser to the
President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina, the
dissolution took effect from Thursday.

Adesina said until the boards are reconstituted, the Chief
Executive Officers of the affected parastatals, agencies and
institutions are to refer all matters requiring the attention of
their boards to the President, through the Permanent
Secretaries of their supervising ministries.

He however said the dissolution did not affect Federal
Executive Bodies listed in the 1999 Constitution but that the
dissolution order covered administrative or technical
committees and other similar organs established by the
now dissolved boards.

Buhari also terminated the appointment of Mr. Patrick
Ziakede Akpobolokemi as the Director-General of the
Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency.
Adesina announced the sack in a statement made available
to journalists. He however did not give reason for the
termination of Akpobolokemi’s appointment, which he said
took immediate effect.

He said Akpobolokemi would hand over the management of
NIMASA and all government property in his possession to
the most senior officer in the agency, who would remain in
charge until a new Director-General was appointed.
The affected federal parastatals, agencies and institutions
include the Securities and Exchange Commission being
chaired by the former governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter
Obi; the Nigerian Railway Corporation, which has a former
National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Dr.
Bamanga Tukur, as its chairman; the Nigeria
Communications Commission, chaired by Mr. Peter Igoh;
the Nigeria Christian Pilgrims Commission, which is chaired
by the Primate of the Church of Nigeria, Anglican
Communion, Most Revd. Nicholas Okoh; and the
Infrastructure Concessionary and Regulatory Commission,
chaired by Senator Ken Nnamani.

Others are the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission;
the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related
Offences Commission; Niger Delta Development
Commission, National Universities Commission; Nigeria
Customs Service; National Agency for Food and Drug
Administration and Control; Nigeria Boundary Commission;
the Nigerian Shippers’ Council; the National Youth Service
Corps; Nigerian Television Authority; the Raw Materials
Research and Development Council and National Lottery
Regulation Commission and the National Educational
Research and Development Council.
Also on the list are the boards of the National Pension
Commission, the Nigeria Investment Promotion
Commission, the National Human Rights Commission, the
National Sports Commission, and the National Institute of

Others are the Federal Housing Authority, Upper Niger River
Basin Development Authority, Lower Niger River Basin
Development Authority, Ogun-Osun River Basin
Development Authority, Benin-Owena River Basin
Development Authority, Niger Delta River Basin
Development Authority, Cross River Basin Development
Authority, Chad Basin Development Authority, Hadeja-
Jama’are River Basin Development Authority, Sokoto Rima
River Basin Development Authority, Anambra-Imo River
Basin Authority, Upper Benue River Basin Development
Authority and Lower Benue River Basin Development

Also affected are the National Teachers’ Institute, National
Veterinary Research Institute, National Agriculture Extension
and Research Liaison, Institute for Agricultural Research
and Training, Institute for Agricultural Research, Federal
Institute for Industrial Research, Advertising Practitioners’
Council of Nigeria, Industrial Training Fund, Nigerian College
of Aviation Technology, and the National Directorate of
Employment and all federal institutions of higher learning
among others.

The Federal Executive Bodies not affected by the
dissolution are the Code of Conduct Bureau, Council of
State, Federal Character Commission, Federal Civil Service
Commission, and the Federal Judicial Service Commission.
Other are the Independent National Electoral Commission,
National Defence Council, National Economic Council,
National Judicial Council, National Population Commission,
National Security Council, and the Nigeria Police Council.

The remaining two are the Police Service Commission and
the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

Related Article

Posted By Bobricky On 08:52 Fri, 17 Jul 2015

Comments:0 || Views:



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article